Notifications
Clear all

Greeting from the collective

codemachineman
(@codemachineman)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Hello to all. 

I came to this place to find some inspiration and boy did I find some! Awesome site.

I've been noodling away for the past 6 months on a space sim in the Unity engine. The goals was to make a space sim that was reasonably to scale on the solar system level. I've definitely met that goal and now I want to grow this into something bigger and better.  

When it comes to modeling my skills are somewhat primitive (rim shot) but I believe the framework that is here can support some pretty fantastic stuff. 

I'm much better when it comes to coding so I was hoping to find some people who would like to get involved with this project. Crowd funding is definitely going help our chance of success.

I wrote the code in a way that makes in very easy and natural to design vessels, space stations, planets, gas giants and stars. All planets can be landed on, all gas giants are volumetric. Newtonian physics is in full effect of course and gravity's range is not limited so it is possible to have Lagrangian points.

Huge fan of Bridge Commander so expanding on that idea vessels and stations would will have interiors that can be explored and you would be able to board others ships.  That's the vision anyways. If you have any questions get in touch with me. I would love to discuss an ideas you have.

I have a ton of ideas on where to take this. 

SolCommand
(@solcommand)
Commander Registered

Welcome to the community mate. If it helps your game and if it fits with your style then please feel free to use any of my models:

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=5d0715049236d05b&id=5D0715049236D05B%21113

ReplyQuote
codemachineman
(@codemachineman)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Welcome to the community mate. If it helps your game and if it fits with your style then please feel free to use any of my models: