Notifications
Clear all

Casual Gamer - Pioneer Feedback

TycMozo
(@tycmozo)
Crewman Registered
Topic starter  

Hello,

I stumbled across this spacesim (long story) and have been playing it for the last few days. I understand that it is still in Alpha and therefore has a way to go.

First i must congratulate you guys/gals on the sim so far, mathematically and somewhat graphically brilliant. I have had very few problems playing it.

I am no developer or tester but wanted to let you guys know some of my thoughts/issues from an 'outsider' perspective. I hope you will understand that i don't want to get into the issue tracker as i can see you already have your work cut out for you.

I hope this will be seen as a positive to help improve and move forwards.

I downloaded the file 'pioneer-20160512-win32.7z' for my install just the other day (not sure how to get the build number sorry.

AMD FX8350 cpu (8 core)

Dual Radeon HD7770CU (Crossfire disabled)

Windows 8.1 64bit

In no particular order, here are my observations:

Speed lines should be ON by default

Galaxy Map:

Label Out of Range systems should be ON by default

Label Uninhabited Systems should be OFF by default

System information (prior to travel):

Distance to travel from spawn point to object (eg Ethcaneth is 942au !!)

Technology level of starports should be displayed

System information (after arrival):

No way to select ships in the system (current 'orrery' seems unusable)

Locating a ship in search and rescue is very 'hit & miss'

Keymap has settings for various warps however only hyperspace F7 is used

Combat appears to be impossible, need a 'combat computer to at least match the speed/direction of enemy

Messages on bottom of screen (pirate threats) clear too quickly, cannot easily identify the threat or target it.

Flying without autopilot is pretty much impossible however stations selling ships often don't have an autopilot and cannot transfer my own