Home Forums Free SciFi Gaming Projects Pioneer Faces – Characters – Models

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

bsmanny

I am very interested in contributing new character files for pioneer using make human and blender. the game is so great – but the faces/characters/models are totally cheesy . I am a complete noob – but Ive built a character using makehuman while learning the program. –
    I would love to contribute and improve this one aspect of an otherwise spectacular game! Ive read as much as I can – still lost in space…..

nozmajner

I doubt that makehuman has enough fidelity for it.
    The starts we had tackling this were always cartoony, and I prefer that direction too. (Too bad I didn’t had the time to actually start working on any of this :/ )

Gernot66
    Participant

if little me is allowed to resurrect a old idea.

you are right, if i show pioneer to younger friends oft mine, which are no space game players, it’s the first they argue about, the humans in pioneer.

even if i explain Them our idea we had, they still don’t like it, which i understand well.

heads could be 3d, generated and could even really interact with you, that’s State of the Art.

but we missed this and sorry with the chosen model system it’s not to imagine, collada isn’t made for games, basta.

we would need a open, programable model system.
    eh, sorry let’s say almost as the scripting system we had.

with restriction oft real interacting, or OK, maybe just restricting animation oft the head, i can even imagine to use something like DX meshes.
    direct-x gives you at least the possibility to make skinned Animations and this is a must to procedural generate faces and to let Them talk, in some sort of way.

you see…
    old Problem and i fear to rant about.

Gernot66
    Participant

what i don’t really und er stand is,
    what is so cheesy about the models?
    many are not my style, but nozmajner does a good job with Thema, IMO.