Notifications
Clear all

Space Nerds In Space

Page 1 / 2

smcameron
(@smcameron)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Space Nerds In Space is a multiplayer networked starship bridge simulator that I've been working on for the past year and a bit.  The idea is, you get several players together in a room with several networked computers.  One computer acts as the game server, running the simualtion.  One computer acts as the main screen, projected on a large display, and other computers act as individual bridge stations -- navigation, weapons, science, engineering, communications, etc.  Multiple bridge crews playing in the same universe, either cooperatively or combatively are possible.

The game is open source, GPLv2 for the code, various CC licenses for the art assets. The game is written in C, for linux, should also run on Mac, and maybe FreeBSD.   A windows port should not be too difficult, but I'm not a windows programmer.

Here's the latest development video:

Website is here: http://smcameron.github.io/space-nerds-in-space/

Code is here: https://github.com/smcameron/space-nerds-in-space

-- steve

smcameron
(@smcameron)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Development update for March 2014:

ReplyQuote
smcameron
(@smcameron)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Space Nerds In Space development update for April 2014.

The audio isn't sync'ed to the video, and the video runs out before the audio finishes, ... oh well.

Most notably, I've been getting into emulating some fluid dynamics stuff to try to get decent textures for gas giant planets. I've made some progress mostly by pursuing the ideas in this paper (PDF): Curl Noise for Procedural Fluid Flow by Bridson, et al.  My little experiments in Processing can be found here: Curly Vortex (github).

Here are what the results I have look like so far:

0NeWGFN.png