Notifications
Clear all

Getting started with lua

Darkman
(@darkman)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

I'm interested in learning how to write in lua for Pioneer and have never used it before.

Would these windows binaries be fine to use ?

http://code.google.com/p/luaforwindows/ linked from the lua home download section http://www.lua.org/download.html .

Or would these http://luabinaries.sourceforge.net/ files be better to use ?

Also, some add-ons are available here:

http://lua-users.org/wiki/LuaAddons

How do I go about writing lua for Pioneer ? What does it involve ?

I am a newbie to this but not to programming as I wrote in C++ and BASIC years ago.

Shall we treat this thread as our main thread on lua scripting and pin this for other users new to lua ?

Brianetta
(@brianetta)
Commander Registered

[*:1ccufhoh]You need to learn the basic language. Docs are available online.

[*:1ccufhoh]You need to familiarise yourself with Pioneer in general.

[*:1ccufhoh]Lua is edited in a text editor, and there is an interpreter built in to Pioneer. The bare essentials are already there; you can download Lua for Windows if you want to practise with stand-alone example code.

[*:1ccufhoh]All .lua files in data/modules get loaded into the game and executed. It's up to each Lua script to listen for events or attach itself to bulletin boards.

[*:1ccufhoh]Events, bulletin board functions and interfaces to game play are Pioneer's additions to Lua (the API). You can find it documented

here, on RobN's web server for now. The documentation applies to the latest master revision, and might be ahead of the alphas.

It's recommended that you try to keep up to date. If there are big changes in the game, don't wait for them to reach the next alpha release, which might be weeks away. Grab the latest nightly build from here.

ReplyQuote
robn
 robn
(@robn)
Captain Registered

Everything Brianetta said. A few notes/thoughts: