Notifications
Clear all

New panel graphics

Friendly
(@friendly)
Crewman Registered
Topic starter  

Hi everybody,

Thank you so much for your great efforts in making this game, and providing it for free for everybody!

I'm a graphic designer since about 15 years back, with work including one commercial (PlayStation) game.

However, as I'm currently in a non-design job, I recently felt an urge to dabble a bit in Photoshop. About the same time I came across Pioneer.

I noticed that one of the most important pieces of art in Pioneer is the panel (HUD), since it is on the screen almost all the time.

So I remade the panel graphics and icons to make the panel look more three dimensional, more polished and more graphically consistent. Here is an idea of what it looks like:

[attachment=692:New-Pioneer-panel.png]

All in all, this is what I have redone/modified so far:

- the panel

- the panel icons (most of them, including on-states)

- the zoom-in/out buttons

- improved contrast in galactic map

- new gui-font; a typeface that is much more distinct and futuristic (the font is called "Hall fetica", I didn't design it but I do think it looks much better and it may be freely distributed)

If you want to try these graphical changes in your own installation, just download and install the zip-archive attached to this post. To install just unzip and copy my new files (.png and .ttf) on top of the existing ones, and everything should work. At least it does on my Windows system.

Questions, suggestions, etc are more than welcome.

Anonymous

Nice

I'll give it a go some time on my Alpha 9 version

ReplyQuote
robn
 robn
(@robn)
Captain Registered

I really quite like this. I was a little dubious from the first image you posted; I thought it looked a little square. I loaded it up though and the buttons in particular look sensational.