Notifications
Clear all

new ship models

Page 2 / 3

NiankoSensei
(@niankosensei)
Senior Chief Registered

Jaja, a nice video tutorial is need for see the correct way to uv-map an object ...

ReplyQuote
nozmajner
(@nozmajner)

What part of it gives you the headache?

ReplyQuote
torham2234
(@torham2234)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Ok, now first remember that I had no training in this area at all. By trade, I am self employed as a painter/decorator/home maintenance. Blender is my hobby, and I picked it up first time about 9 months ago.

Everything I know I have discovered by trial - error and reading tutorials.

Now:

its easy to UV a low poly mesh, because, well there are not many surfaces. So the way I did it with this ship was :

1 - make a low poly model to serve as a general guide for the rough shape of the ship

2- make a high poly model 

3- bake the ambient oculsion onto the UV mapped low poly model and export the pic

4- draw the texture with the ambient oculsion serving as a base

5- and this is the hardest one for me: map the finished texture onto the high poly model.

No. 5 is extremely slow process, since many faces are at wrong/awkward angles, and I have to often manually map every vertex by hand, and that takes hours with a mesh that has got 4000 polygons.

I did try to look for a way to "map" the low poly model onto the high poly mesh, but the best way I have figured so far was to smart UV the high poly and then bake the texture. The problem with this is that the smart UV is extremely wasteful with the available space in the texture, so it end up looking far worse on the high poly, and also I cannot use the same texture on both meshes, since they both have different UV layout...

ReplyQuote
NiankoSensei
(@niankosensei)
Senior Chief Registered