Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] !! Pioneer Question Time !! - Ask them here

Page 35 / 52

fluffyfreak
(@fluffyfreak)
Captain Registered

No it doesn't affect their flight. There is no "flight model" as it would be called.

Even if there were a flight model it wouldn't work based on the collision mesh and that would be far too complex 🙂

ReplyQuote
E10
 E10
(@e10)
Crewman Registered

Hello, first post here so a brief intro. I'm from the Netherlands and made some games in the 80's and 90's, just for fun. I am a network engineer, spending my spare time with guitar, art, science and a little 3D modelling and programming. 

I re-discovered Pioneer a few weeks ago and I think you did an excellent job. Elite II has always been a favorite game to me because of its integration of fairly simple maths to accomplish a complex universe. Elite II got me interested in fractals and mathematics.

For years I've been thinking about a space sim somewhat like Elite2. Spaceships with 3D cockpits as in Orbiter, which really adds to the illusion of the vastness of space. Movement of the cockpit like in FSX adds to the illusion of acting g forces. I see huge spaceships to freely move/live in, with all kinds of equipment and devices to do some research on stars and planets. Scanners, analyzers, shuttles, rovers, probes. Data collected scientifically correct, as far as it goes. Of course with a "star log" and a growing ships database. A sim to let the player discover the galaxy, or just fly around, or do all the other things in Elite II and much more. For exploring the galaxy I had something like this in mind: at first only a few star systems are colonized, the player can travel to empty neighbor systems, do some research, and when a certain score is reached the system is ready to be colonized and (automatically) gets its star ports/gas stations. Another hub. Or not, if the system is not interesting.