Notifications
Clear all

Stars of Constellations

bender
(@bender)
Crewman Registered
Topic starter  

Hello,

Had taken a look which stars of the constellations can be found in Pioneer. Thereby I tried to figure out how the Pioneer sectors and the equatorial coordinates are connected and therefore I wrote 2 little console-apps and a Calc sheet.

For all who are interested in it, here I've uploaded the files including a short description and the source-code (sorry, I'm not a programmer, so please don't judge too hard but make it better :)). The apps are compiled with VC++2010.

"equa_calc" converts Pioneer sectors into equatorial coordinates and "sector_calc" converts equatorial coordinates into Pioneer sectors.

fluffyfreak
(@fluffyfreak)
Captain Registered

Nice, I'll have to take a look at this later.

There's a developers forum as well where you might find more programmers.

ReplyQuote
NevilClavain
(@krakoukass)
Warrant Officer Registered

<off_topic>

BTW I tried some days ago to register to the pioneer dev forum, but never received the activation email !

Is forum registration subject to admin approval ? or is it reserved to the pioneer dev team only ?  ❓  ❓

thx in advance

Nev

</off_topic>

ReplyQuote
nozmajner
(@nozmajner)

That activation email gets lost in the aether sometimes. Robn or jpab can activate you in that case, ping them on IRC.

ReplyQuote
bender
(@bender)
Crewman Registered
Topic starter  

Hello,

I've updated the little console app sector_calc. There was a gap with the case Declination < 0°. Now it's possible to enter RA (") and Declination (") with decimal places and the inner positions (x,y,z) of the Pioneer sector cube for each star are also calculated. For those who want, this will give the complete Pioneer coordinates for adding missing stars to the file bright_stars.lua or for creating a custom system.