Notifications
Clear all

Troubles compiling on Debian Linux

Bugbear
(@bugbear)
Senior Chief Registered
Topic starter  

This is my first attempt at compiling Pioneer, and I'm quite the noob at compiling from source anyway but I'm going to persevere...

Downloaded the source code, opened command terminal as super user, entered the following commands:

./bootstrap

./configure

make

bootstrap and configure appear to complete successfully. make throws up the following errors:

custom_starsystems.cpp error: integer constant is too large for ‘long’ type

custom_starsystems.cpp error: integer constant is too large for ‘long’ type

So I go to the src directory and open custom_starsystems.cpp and go to line 42

{ "Phobos", SBody::TYPE_PLANET_LARGE_ASTEROID,

13, fixed(21,10000), fixed(18,10000000000), 233, /* this is line 42 */

fixed(6268,100000000), fixed(151,10000), { (float)DEG2RAD(1.093) }, fixed(11,24) },

Dredging up some rarely used C++ knowledge, I dig into custom_starsystems.h to look at the data structure definition...

struct CustomSystem {

const char *name;

const CustomSBody *sbodies; // 0 to let system be random

SBody::BodyType primaryType[4];

int sectorX, sectorY;

vector3f pos;

Uint32 seed;

const char *shortDesc;

const char *longDesc;

Polit::GovType govType;

};

Looking at this, I'm assuming that sectorY corresponds to "fixed(18,10000000000)" in the .cpp file.

And that's about as far as my knowledge takes me. I don't know what the 'fixed' function does but I assume the compiler is choking on the '10000000000' - is that too large for an int?

I did try playing around with the .h file and change the data type to something larger but it didn't make any difference, so I restored the .h to it's original state...

So...what's going on here? Any help will be appreciated.

Simbad
(@simbad)
Senior Chief Registered

10000000000 is to large for an int.

should be int64_t would be better.

ReplyQuote
s2odan
(@s2odan)
Captain Registered

Quote: