Notifications
Clear all

Alliance Space Guard (a 3D spacesim with orbits and ship avionics!)

Page 2 / 7

Pinback
(@pinback)
99 Star General Site Moderator

Awesome work David, these orbital rings reminds me of the Earth habitat ring in Hamilton Night's Dawn trilogy of books.

ReplyQuote
D.C.Elington
(@d-c-elington)
Warrant Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Thanks for the feedback 🙂 Also it's very easy to get lost in one's own "space bubble" so really please tell me when something is not clear or feels inconsistent.

@D1 to me in a gamedev context the maths are very often a key tool to help you build whatever feature you have in mind. Also you can immediately apply them and learn from your mistakes as you're debugging. As far as I'm concerned that's very different from when I was a student and regularly had to absorb concepts I did not really understand and forgot about past the related exam 🙁 So honestly so far the process of learning the necessary new techniques has proved much easier than what I was anticipating.

@Pinback I read the Night's Dawn novels too ^^ and actually I tried to implement some of the books' ideas for the jump mechanics, notably the conservation of the ships' momentum through jumps. (Also in a hard sci-fi context this alleviates part of the hyperspace-magic-related guilt so all the better ^^). Unless I'm mistaken the novels (mostly the last one for the final quest) also mention the DeltaV between systems due to the relative galactic motions. And this effect is also why IMHO an unrealistically small galaxy is preferable to a real Earth neighborhood, at least in such a game with relatively limited ship capabilities (to rebound on your past question on the matter).

ReplyQuote
Pinback
(@pinback)

Speaking of the books, the combat wasp was interesting weapon used and IIRC their is detail explanation in first book.

ReplyQuote
D.C.Elington
(@d-c-elington)
Topic starter  

Yes I remember the combats were very nicely depicted! 🙂