Notifications
Clear all

Sol Trader

Page 1 / 2

Pinback
(@pinback)
99 Star General Site Moderator
Topic starter  

Sol Trader describes itself as Elite meets Asteroids, looking for £20K more details on.

SEE POST 20  BELOW FOR NEW KICKSTARTER DETAILS.

website http://chrismdp.com/

Hello: I'm Chris Parsons, a former AAA games developer turned software consultant and entrepreneur. I've recently come back home to my love of making indie games, and I'd love to introduce Sol Trader to you, the game I've been working on for the past three years.

Sol Trader is an exciting new game for PC and Mac. It aims to combine the immersiveness of Elite and the arcade fun of Asteroids with the depth of an RPG.

fca9962a89729cca5a7fe47cc3f1b81a_large.g

It features a complex procedural history generator. Each new game is already two centuries old, with a living history full of characters that are born, live and die before you even exist.

a78b94ba7d1d889615862e1431dd54aa_large.g

When you create a character in this world, you face the same choices as all the computer-controlled citizens did. The decisions you make in your character's early life set your starting skills and attributes, and your family connections and business contacts. You'll be able to explore the known (and unknown) solar system, trade goods, run missions, leverage your contacts, and avenge members of your family as you see fit...

2234e5d1c24fd63558fae03c202dfe73_large.p

I've been self-funding Sol Trader for three years, working on it in my evenings and weekends and whenever else I can. It's currently playable and in late Alpha. While it's come a long way, there are several large pieces I need to finish:

• Online scoreboards: compare your story and achievements with others!
  • Missions
  • AI conversations and interaction
  • Asteroids and Mining
  • More weaponry and equipment for ships
  • Sound effects
  • The ability to buy new ships
  • Economy balance and expansion
  • Inter-faction politics

chrismdp