Notifications
Clear all

Moddability

lionheart
(@lionheart)
Petty Officer Registered
Topic starter  

Having been looking at the game in detail for a week or so, I'm interested to hear from the devs how much of a focus is being placed on making the engine content agnostic and moddable, i.e. viable for total conversions and so on.

I've seen reference to the fact that certain stock ships must be in the game and other such quirks. Could someone   summarise, or point me to a summary, of what is and isn't possible right now. For example, without going into code, can I remove every planet and start again.

I assume that moving in the direction of making the content properly separate and replaceable from the engine itself is a goal, but is it very low priority? Not being a proficient coder I've been thinking I might start a little project on the wiki to catalogue all the elements of the engine that are currently hardcoded and not replaceable if that might be of value.

Chronothan
(@chronothan)
Petty Officer Registered

As far as I have been able to gather, one of the main goals of the devs is to get the majority of the core gameplay working through the Lua side of things down the road.  Doing so would make the game relatively easy to mod as long as you have a decent knowledge of Lua.  Right now, you can create and edit missions(data/modules folder), mess with the ui (data/ui folder), mess with the factions (data/factions folder; though they don't have much effect in game yet), and change ship stats (data/ships).  Pirate spawns and trade ship spawns are handled through the modules currently, so that is usually a good place to start messing around with stuff. If you write something and it is screwing things up (crashing, errors, etc) just delete it.