Notifications
Clear all

can't play. any help?

DoctorRoXo
(@doctorroxo)
Senior Chief Registered
Topic starter  

ok i tried to play just now for the first time and got an error.

Assertion failed!

Program: C:\Oolite\oolite.app\oolite.exe

File: src/SDL/MyOpenGLView.m

Line: 220

Expression: surface != NULL

For information on how you program can cause an assertion failure, see the Visual C++ documentation on asserts

(Press Retry to debug the application - JIT must be enabled)

i hit retry and a window popped up: oolite.exe has stopped working blah blah blah.

no idea what any of that means or what to do. 🙁

Cody
 Cody
(@cody)
Captain Registered

Okay, a few questions, then I'll link it to the Oolite forum... I'm only a dumb pilot, not a coder or dev:

Which version of Oolite? 1.76?

Which OS? (I presume Windows of some flavour).

Which GPU?

Oolite Naval Attaché

ReplyQuote
DoctorRoXo
(@doctorroxo)
Senior Chief Registered
Topic starter  
Cody wrote:
Okay, a few questions, then I'll link it to the Oolite forum... I'm only a dumb pilot, not a coder or dev:

Which version of Oolite? 1.76?

Which OS? (I presume Windows of some flavour).

Which GPU?

yea it is 1.76

windows 7 64 bit

radeon hd 6770

thanks cody. i guess i could put it on the wiki but if you can get a faster response that'd be cool.

ReplyQuote
Cody
 Cody
(@cody)
Captain Registered

Done! You'll have to seek the stuff mentioned over at the Oolite forum, but the -nosplash option is the first thing to try.

Edit to add: this last post seems a more likely solution. Trunk nightlies can be found from here.

The nightlies are easy to install, but your AV may not like them at first. I have to coerce my Nortons to run them, but they are quite safe.

Oolite Naval Attaché

ReplyQuote
DoctorRoXo
(@doctorroxo)
Senior Chief Registered
Topic starter