Notifications
Clear all

So many stars...!

Coldwind651
(@coldwind651)
Crewman Registered
Topic starter  

I do hope this doesn't offend the people who have put so much hard work into Pioneer, or into the Scout+ mod, which I'm currently using. I love the game, but I'm finding the skybox a little distracting.

It's just an aesthetic thing. For me, there're just too many stars in the sky.

I realise it'd be a lot of work to ask for a dynamic starfield that gets brighter and dimmer depending on how many big shiny objects there are in view. And I wouldn't ask for a starfield modelled on Elite: Dangerous, where every star is where it actually is in the galaxy map (or so they say, though I'd be none the wiser if that wasn't actually true!).

But is there a way, or could there be a way, to reduce the overall density of stars, or their brightness? I have tried messing around with the .dds files in the skybox folder, but I'm not technically minded and I don't know what I did wrong to get this:

[attachment=3050:pioneersp-texture-fail.JPG]

I'd opened the files in GIMP using the DDS plug-in, basically just blanked them, and overwrote the originals. This was, it seems, the Wrong Thing To Do.

If anyone could give me some advice on how best to approach this, bearing in mind it's not exactly a critical problem, I'd appreciate it.

nozmajner
(@nozmajner)

I'm not sure how the sky is generated in scout+, but in pioneer, it's only a painted Milkyway texture, and points are generated on top of that by the engine.

You could replace the ones scout+ has with the one that comes with Pioneer. (if that works the same for scout+, you can just delete the others, no need to replace all of them)

ReplyQuote
fluffyfreak
(@fluffyfreak)
Captain Registered

I should make it configurable. Currently it draws 100,000 points for stars but it used to be 10,000 which some people found less overwhelming.

ReplyQuote
walterar
(@walterar)
Commander Registered

@Coldwind651 Welcome!